Raspberry Lemonade Cheesecake

So… my first posting. I really used to frown on this whole blogging thing, but have decided to give it a try. I was inspired by a friend who does a great job sharing her culinary creations and wanted to give it a shot. I hope you like it! 🙂

My father is notorious for watching 2 things: The Weather Channel and The Food Channel. For christmas last year my mother bought him the Food Network Favorites cookbook, and since he doesn’t cook and my mother doesn’t experiment I’m the only one that uses it. Tyler Florence’s The Ultimate Cheesecake Recipe is one I have used many, many times; however, this time I wanted to try something new. I wanted to use raspberries instead of blueberries, a more “cinnamony” crust and I wanted the cheesecake to be more lemony. With some substitutions I have renamed this recipe…

RASPBERRY LEMONADE CHEESECAKE

Cinnamon Graham Crust

  • 2 cups graham cracker crumbs
  • 1 T. ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 cup butter, melted
  • 2 T. brown sugar

Filling

  • 2 8 oz. packages cream cheese
  • 3 large eggs
  • 2 cups sour cream
  • zest of one lemon
  • 1 t. vanilla extract
  • 1/2 t. lemon extract

Raspberry Lemonade Topping

mix together

  • 2 pints raspberries, gently crushed
  • zest and juice of one lemon
  • 4 T. sugar

Preheat oven to 325 degrees. Flip 9-inch spring form pan upside down and carefully wrap bottom and sides with heavy duty aluminum foil.  There should be foil sticking up higher than the pan itself.  (MAKE SURE there are no tears or holes.) Spray pan with non-stick cooking spray. Combine ingredients for crust and toss with fork until well mixed. Press into pan and pop into freezer until ready to fill.

Beat cream cheese until fluffy and then begin adding one egg at a time. Slowly add sugar, sour cream, lemon zest, vanilla and lemon extract – scraping sides and bottom throughout. Pour filling into graham crust.

Set pan into a large roasting pan or frying pan and gently pour boiling water in until it’s about halfway up the foil surrounding the cheesecake pan.

Bake 45 minutes. Turn off the heat and leave in oven for another hour. Remove from water bath and let sit for 30 minutes. Chill in the refrigerator for at least 12 hours and serve with raspberry lemonade topping.

2 thoughts on “Raspberry Lemonade Cheesecake

  1. Hey, Amy! I just wanted to tell you I made the food network blueberry cheesecake this weekend and I LOVED it! I know you didn’t make that recipe or anything, but since you’re the one who introduced it to me, I’ll give you credit. 🙂 Besides, I followed your directions for baking and then leaving it in the oven, b/c the FN directions didn’t seem like a long enough baking time. I’ll have to try your raspberry lemonade one next time. Anyways, I love your recipe blog, I love trying out new things and getting tried and true recipes from other people, so keep it up!

  2. alenting says:

    Thanks Michelle! This is a favorite of mine. You can add a tablespoon of cornstarch to the sauce too (obviously while it’s cool so you don’t get chunks) and that’ll thicken things up a bit. 🙂

Leave a Reply

