Mocha Chip Scones

As many know, I just feel like baking sometimes, and for absolutely no reason.  This morning I had half of a maple scone from Starbucks for breakfast and found myself wondering if I could make scones.  AND… I can! 🙂

SCONES:

1/4 c. strong coffee, cooled

2 T. heavy cream

2 eggs

1 t. vanilla

3 1/2 c. Bisquick

1/2 c. sugar

3/4 c. white chocolate chips

3/4 c. chocolate chips

1 T. heavy cream

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Combine coffee, 2 T. cream, 1 egg and vanilla; set aside.  In mixer combine Bisquick, sugar and chips.  Slowly add coffee mixture.  Dump dough into a greased 9-in. cake pan (I used one with a removable bottom to make this part easier) and press until firm.  Flip out onto a cutting board and use a pizza wheel to cut into 8 pieces.  (They were quite big, so I cut them again from the outside corner to the middle of the opposite side.)  Arrange on a cookie sheet.  Whisk remaining egg and 1 T. cream together and brush mixture over scones.  Bake for 20-25 minutes or until lightly browned.

ICING:

1 c. powdered sugar

1 t. vanilla

1 T. strong coffee

2 T. butter, softened

Whisk well and top scones while still warm.

NOTE:  I didn’t have heavy cream in the house, so I used french vanilla coffee creamer… it worked fine.  I’m sure milk would be fine as well.

3 thoughts on “Mocha Chip Scones

  1. Hey Amy! I was peaking over Justin’s shoulder the other night and noticed you posted something on FB about a scone recipe so I had to come check it out. What’d you think of them? I’ve never made scones myself but always wanted to give them a try. The one thing I worry about is if they come out dry, b/c I know scones are supposed to be more that direction then moist and chewy. I really should give them a try sometime. Thanks for the recipe!

    • alenting says:

      Thanks Stacey! 🙂 I actually need to edit this on and give credit where credit is due. I got the basic recipe from Sandra from the Food Network, but did change a few things, put in my own explanation and added the icing for a little sweetness. These ARE dry; however, they’re supposed to be. It definitely tasted better with my morning cup of coffee than just plain. If I made them again I would leave out the white chips (don’t really like them anyway) and would just double the chocolate chips. I also want to try using cranberry and orange juice instead of coffee and putting in orange zest and craisins instead of the chips. Orange icing then, of course. 🙂

Leave a Reply

