Cranberry Bliss Bars

I for one, am a sucker for craisins, and if you’ve ever been to Starbucks at Christmas you’ve probably seen their Cranberry Bliss Bars in the display case.  I resisted the urge to try one for years, and then a friend brought them to a Christmas party last year and they are as delicious as they look.  That being said, they’re also about $2 a piece.

I found a website called TopSecretRecipes.com and they have tried to clone the recipe.  I made the bars this morning and agree that they’ve come pretty close, but definitely would make a few changes.  So, here’s their recipe with a few of my edits…

CRANBERRY BLISS BARS

Cake:

  • 1 1/2 sticks butter, softened
  • 1 1/4 cups brown sugar
  • 3 eggs
  • 2 T. crystallized ginger, minced (equal to 1/4 tsp. ground ginger – my grocer didn’t carry crystallized)
  • 1 1/2 tsp. vanilla
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1 1/2 c. flour
  • 1/2 tsp. baking powder
  • 3/4 c. craisins, chopped
  • 1/2 c. white chocolate chunks

Combine all ingredients and pour into a greased 9×13 pan.  Bake at 350 degrees for 25-30 minutes.  Let cool.  Once cool, take another 9×13 pan (or your hands) and press cake down so that it’s more compressed.  (I didn’t do this and should have – it’s too “cakey” and falls apart.)

Frosting:

  • 4 oz. cream cheese, softened
  • 3 c. powdered sugar
  • 4 tsp. lemon juice
  • 1 tsp. vanilla
  • 1/4 c. craisins, chopped

Combine first 4 ingredients until grainy texture is gone.  Spread over bars.  Sprinkle with craisins.

Also, the original recipe calls for an icing, but I didn’t make it because I ran out of powdered sugar.  They taste fine without it, but if you want a finishing touch…

Icing:

  • 1/2 c. powdered sugar
  • 1 T. milk
  • 2 tsp. shortening

Mix well and put into resealable bag.  Cut small piece off corner and drizzle over bars.  I think that adding a drop of red or green food coloring here would add a nice festive touch.

Since my bars were a little too “cakey” for my taste, I did put them in the fridge to firm them up a little.  Regardless, delish! 🙂

 

 

One thought on “Cranberry Bliss Bars

Leave a Reply

