Oatmeal Craisin Cookies

A big “thank you” to Matthew for submitting his Oatmeal Craisin Cookie recipe on recipezaar.com.  I was pulling chocolate chip cookies (got the recipe from my friend Stacie’s blog, Kats’ Kitchen) out of the oven and came across this recipe.  Since I already had all the dishes dirty I thought I’d give them a whirl, and they very well may be my new favorite cookie.  Easy to make, perfect texture, not too sweet… LOVE THEM!

  • 3/4 c. sugar
  • 1/4 c. brown sugar
  • 1/2 c. butter, softened
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 tsp. vanilla
  • 1/2 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 3/4 c. flour
  • 1 1/2 c. quick-cooking oats
  • 3/4 c. Craisins (I bought an eco-size bag at Sams when I made the Cranberry Bliss Bars)
  • 1/2 c. walnuts, chopped (not a fan – left them out)
  • 2 T. milk (this is not in the original recipe, but the batter looked a little too thick so I added a little milk)

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.  Cream butter and sugars.  Add egg, vanilla, cinnamon, baking soda and salt.  Gradually add flour, oats and craisins (and milk, if you think you need it).  Scoop (love my cookie scoop!) onto cookie sheets and bake for 6 minutes, turn pan 180 degrees and then bake for another 6 minutes.

Whenever I bake cookies, they go into baggies in the freezer and then we just take them out as needed for lunches.  It’s a huge time saver in the mornings.  I got 2 1/2 dozen out of this recipe and will definitely double or triple time.  2 cookies per lunch bag, 5 lunches a day, 5 days a week… one recipe won’t get us through 3 days!  In fact, this first batch probably won’t make it through the weekend. 🙂

One thought on “Oatmeal Craisin Cookies

  1. Next time I see craisins on sale, or maybe I’ll look for them at Aldi, I’ll make these — I’m ready for a change…but I highly doubt Justin will eat them, maybe I’ll bring some in to work.

    How was the bread???

Leave a Reply

