Cinnamon Rolls

I was in Michigan recently chatting it up with my Aunt Deb over a cup of coffee and she handed me a recipe that she said I HAD to try.  I’m always game for that, so I did… YUM!  Supposedly these are supposed to taste like Cinnabons; however, I’ve never had one, so I’m not sure if they do or not.  What I do know is that they’re soft, delicious, and not too difficult… but you’ll be doing a lot of dishes! 🙂  (Aunt Deb, I did mess with your recipe a little.  Sorry!)

I used a Kitchen Aid mixer with a dough hook attachment.

Cookie sheet.

ROLLS

  • 1/2 c. warm water (between 110-115 degrees)
  • 4 1/2 tsp. yeast (2 pkts.)
  • 2 T. sugar
  • 1 small box vanilla pudding
  • 2 c. milk
  • 1/2 c. butter, melted
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 2 tsp. cinnamon
  • 6 c. flour

FILLING

9x13 pan.

  • 1 c. butter, softened
  • 3 c. brown sugar
  • 4 tsp. cinnamon
  • 2/3 c. golden raisins or chopped pecans (opt.)

FROSTING

  • 8 oz. cream cheese
  • 3 c. powdered sugar
  • 1/2 c. butter, softened
  • 1 T. milk
  • 1 1/2 tsp. cinnamon

Sprinkle yeast and sugar over water in mixing bowl and lightly whisk.  Set aside.  In a separate bowl, combine pudding mix, milk, melted butter, eggs, salt and cinnamon.  Combine with yeast mixture.  Slowly add flour.  Dough will be sticky.  Place in a large bowl and cover with plastic wrap.  Let rise until doubled, punch down and then let rise until doubled again.  Roll out onto a floured surface into about a 20-inch by 30-inch rectangle.  (This is some STICKY dough, so flour surface generously.)

Spread softened butter onto dough and top with brown sugar/cinnamon mixture.  Sprinkle optional raisins/nuts over and roll tightly (roll from 30-inch side).  Make 1 1/2-inch marks down the roll and slice by sliding a piece of dental floss under the tube and pulling ends to the opposite side (I know, it sounds weird, but it works like a charm!).  You should get about 20-24 rolls.

Please rounds onto a greased cookie sheet about 1-2 inches apart and lightly press down.  Let rise until doubled and bake at 350 for 15-20 minutes, or until golden.  Frost while still warm.  Store in airtight container.

NOTE:  I’ve made these twice (in one week) and the second time I put them in a 9×13 instead of a cookie sheet.  I’ve posted pics of both – you decide which you like!  (Even though they’re prettier on the cookie sheet, I’m a fan of the 9×13.)

5 thoughts on “Cinnamon Rolls

  1. I just made these and they are awesome! I cut down on the butter for the filling and they still taste great. Cinnamon rolls are my husband’s favorite and I’ve been trying to make a perfect batch since we’ve been married (8 yrs) and I think these might just be it. We’ll see what he has to say when he gets home. Thanks for the recipe!!!

  2. Sydney says:

    I made these today. They were delicious and the house smelled amazing. My family loved them and my mom said they were better than Cinnabon. I did add the apples and raisins.

Leave a Reply

