ANZAC Biscuits

As some may or may not know, I recently spent a few months gathering and editing recipes for a VanderCook College of Music project appropriately titled, The VanderCookBook.  It was a fun project and I got to read through a lot of recipes from alums, friends, faculty, staff and students.  A few recipes came to me in metric form with ingredients I had never heard of, so I had to ‘Americanize’ them.  (Who knew bicarbonate of sodium = baking soda?!)  Converting the ANZAC Biscuit recipe was probably the most  complicated but they were well worth it!

Credits for this recipe go to Pam Fleischfresser from Australia.  Pam is the ‘mum’ of my friend Vaughan.  Hi Pam and Vaughan!  Oh, and I haven’t met her yet but heard she’s fanTAStic… Hi Gemma!

Per Vaughan… “ANZAC biscuits have long been associated with the Australian and New Zealand Army Corps (ANZAC) established in World War I.  The appear to be a variation of Scottish oatcakes, possibly via the  Scottish-influenced city of Dunedin, New Zealand.  The ingredients don’t spoil easily and kept well during naval transportation to loved ones who were fighting abroad.”

ANZAC Biscuits (biscuit = cookie)

  • 1 c. oats
  • 1 c. flour (all-purpose)
  • 3/4 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 3/4 c. coconut flakes
  • 3/4 c. superfine sugar (try this if you don’t have any)
  • 2 T. Lyle’s Golden Syrup (available at Meijer in the int’l foods aisle)
  • 1 stick butter + 1 T.
  • 1/2 tsp. baking soda
  • 2 T. boiling water

Preheat oven to 325 degrees.

Measure first 6 ingredients into a large bowl.  Melt butter and golden syrup in a small saucepan.  Measure boiling water into a cup and add baking soda.  (Next is my favorite part.)  Pour water and soda over butter and and quickly add to large bowl before it froths up.  Stir well and either roll into balls (flattened slightly) or press into a greased 8×8 pan and cut into squared while still hot.

Bake for 15-20 minutes or until golden brown.  Makes 18 delicious cookies or 16 fanTAStic bars.

Note:  I’ve tried 3 times to double this recipe and have to say that it works better if you simple mix 2 batches separately.  Don’t know why.  Perhaps Pam could shed some light? 🙂

2 thoughts on “ANZAC Biscuits

  1. Stephanie says:

    I find the translation of recipes so funny…because I often have to translate the opposite way. I look at my recipe and think, “Can I get that here? If I can, what is it called? How expensive will it be? If I can’t, what can I substitute?” Like…golden syrup…I think its pretty much interchangable with corn syrup, but maybe not.

    • alenting says:

      Steph –

      I thought that Golden Syrup would be interchangeable for corn syrup, but it’s not. The consistency is the same, so it could work… but Golden Syrup definitely has a nutty taste instead of just being sweet.

Leave a Reply

