Maple Nut Scones

Since I teach lessons on Mondays and Wednesdays and work late on Tuesdays, Thursday is my self-proclaimed baking night.  I always look for something new to try and usually try to make it a semi-breakfasty item.  This week I decided to make scones.  I had a coupon a while back for a free pastry with purchase of coffee from Starbucks and the only thing I could get by the time I got there was a maple nut scone.  I cracked a corner off thinking that it probably wasn’t going to be good… but it was!  Crumbly, hearty and some sweet from the glaze.  Perfect with a skinny latté.

For those that haven’t used Recipezaar recipes before, I highly recommend the site.  They have everything under the sun, and their recipes include great step-by-steps as well as nutrition info.  I tried #157241 and was pleased with the results.  That being said, scones are supposed to be eaten with coffee or tea – they’re dry.  These were a little dry, but not nearly as dry as the Mocha Chip Scones I previously posted about.

MAPLE NUT SCONES

  • 1 c. oats, ground in blender to fine consistency
  • 1 c. all-purpose flour
  • 1/3-1/2 c. wheat flour
  • 2/3 c. chopped pecans
  • 1 T. baking powder
  • 2 T. sugar
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 2 T. pure maple syrup
  • 2 1/2 T. cold butter, chopped into small pieces
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 c. heavy cream
  • 1/2 -3/4 tsp. maple extract (there’s a $1 off McCormick coupon floating around)

Preheat oven to 425 degrees.  Combine first 9 ingredients in mixer and mix to combine.  In a separate bowl combine cream, egg and extract.  Pour into dry mixture and violá – batter is done.  (How easy is that?!)

Here’s where I changed things up a bit.  The original recipe says to dump the mixture out and form it into an 8 to 10-in. circle and then cut into 8 pieces (the pizza wheel is great for that); however, I have way more than 8 co-workers… and those scones would have been HUGE!  So, I doubled the recipe and used my ice cream scoop (which also works great for muffin and cupcake batter).  I scooped them onto the cookie sheet and then flattened them to about 1/2-in. with my palm.  Bake for 15-20 minutes or until you see that the edges of the bottom have just started to brown (over-done scones make great hockey pucks).

While scones are baking make the glaze:

  • 1 1/2 c. powdered sugar
  • 1/2 tsp. maple extract
  • 1 1/2 T. water

Put 1 T. glaze over scones and let melt.  Sprinkle with additional nuts if desired.

Enjoy!

One thought on “Maple Nut Scones

  1. Ok, as I am reading this I am laughing — this is too funny. I went to Starbucks the same day you did b/c I had that coupon for the free pastry and I got the Maple Nut Scone too! First time trying that one – super good. Hopefully one of these days I’ll get to making some scones of my own.

Leave a Reply

