Honey Oat Wheat Bread

I’m on a mission to become a healthier (and, hopefully, lighter) version of myself.  That means I need to change my eating habits… so I’m looking for healthier recipes.  Our sermon tonight was about how “a bit of leaven leaveneth the whole lump” and while it definitely had nothing to do with cooking, I got home from church and found myself with a hankering to bake bread.

Since I’m counting calories, I went to recipezaar.com because they include nutrition info with their recipes.  I’ve found a winner that I want to share with you.  It’s published as a bread maker recipe; however, I’ve adapted it for the mixer/self-rise method.  I LOVE it!  At 170 calories per 1/2-inch slice it’s both hearty and healthy – very low in fats and sugar.  To top it off, it doesn’t taste like cardboard!

HONEY OAT WHEAT BREAD

  • 1 1/4 c. warm water (105 to 115 degrees)
  • 1 T. yeast
  • 1 T. sugar
  • 1/3 c. honey
  • 1 T. olive oil
  • 1 1/2 c. bread flour
  • 1 1/2 c. wheat flour
  • 1 c. oats (quick works fine)
  • 1 tsp. salt

Pour water into mixer bowl and sprinkle yeast and sugar over.  Set aside and let proof for about 5 minutes.  In a separate bowl, combine dry ingredients.

Add honey and oil to proofed yeast mixture and give a few turns with the mixer.  (Tip:  spray measuring cup with cooking spray and the honey slides right out.)  Set mixer on low speed and gradually add dry ingredients.  Once everything is incorporated, let knead until dough pulls away from the sides.  (I did have to add 2 T. of water to help it along a little.)

Please dough into a greased bowl and let rise for 45 minutes or until doubled.  Punch down and knead for about a minute.  Shape into an 8-inch tube and put in a 9-in. bread pan.  Let rise again for about 30 minutes, slice some light criss-crosses in the top, and then bake at 350 for 35-40 minutes or until top is golden brown.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

