Grilled Chicken and Pineapple Pizza with Wheat Crust

14.5 pounds down and I’m still making an effort to eat healthier… no I AM eating healthier! 🙂  I have the house to myself this weekend and felt like pizza, but didn’t want frozen and didn’t feel like going out for fresh.  Solution:  make my own pizza, and make it healthy!  Initially, I was thinking taco pizza, but then I saw a can of chunk pineapple on the counter and (ding, ding) the light went off:  Grilled Chicken and Pineapple Pizza AND I could make my own homemade wheat crust.

Major success!  I’ll be making this again!

TOPPINGS

  • 1/2 c. chunk pineapple, quartered
  • 1 c. sweet onion, sliced very thinly
  • 1 bag mozzarella (low-fat)
  • Italian Seasoning
  • 1 can pizza sauce (love Meijer brand)

WHEAT CRUST

  • 3/4 c. warm water (105-110 degrees)
  • 1 1/2 tsp. yeast
  • 1/2 tsp. sugar
  • 1 c. wheat flour
  • 1 c. all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 2 T. olive oil
  • 1/2 c. olive oil + 1 T. italian seasoning

Sprinkle yeast and sugar over water, stir, and set aside to proof in mixing bowl.  Meanwhile, combine dry ingredients in a bowl.  Once yeast starts to foam, add 2 T. olive oil to mixture and slowly add dry ingredients using the bread hook attachment.  Once dough pulls away from sides of bowl, lightly knead and set in a greased  bowl.  Cover and let rise.  (Note:  I did have to add another tablespoon or two of water to help the dough come together.)

While the dough rises, grill a large chicken breast and chop into small pieces.  (I’ve loving the new McCormick Perfect Pinch Chicken seasoning lately.)  Leave the grill on once the chicken is done.

After dough has risen, flip out onto a greased round pizza pan and press out with your hands.  Brush well with seasoned olive oil and flip onto hot grill.  Once dough on grates is firm and browned, use a large spatula to flip it over, add desired amount of sauce, toppings, cheese and sprinkle with italian seasoning.  Let “bake” until crust is quite firm.  When done, slide onto the same pan, cut and enjoy.

I have a co-worker who always says, “The degree to which it tastes good is the degree to which it is bad for you.”  Pardon, but I beg to differ with this recipe! 🙂

One thought on “Grilled Chicken and Pineapple Pizza with Wheat Crust

Leave a Reply

