Healthy Chicken Salad with Grapes

The quest for healthy food continues, and I’ve been having fun trying new things.  A friend recently gave me a sheet of dietary swaps (i.e. frozen grapes for sugary popsicles, avocado for mayo, etc.) and on it there was made mention of straining greek yogurt and using it for a mayo substitute.

That being said, I tried switching to greek yogurt from my regular Yogplait… can’t do it.  I can get the blueberry fruit-on-the-bottom one down, but the texture and aftertaste just do me in with all the others.  Of course, I hit a sale and paired coupons the first time I bought it, and had to go through 9 containers of the stuff.  (Only 2 left, by the way.)

So… leftover grilled chicken, grapes that needed to be eaten, and greek yogurt that I needed to use for something.  I used to love my mom’s chicken and grape salad so  I figured, “here goes nothin’ ” and created the recipe below.  To my shock, IT’S DELICIOUS!

HEALTHY CHICKEN SALAD WITH GRAPES

  • 1 6 oz. container vanilla, honey or plain greek yogurt, strained
  • 1 chicken breast, cooked and cubed
  • 1/4 c. diced celery
  • 12-15 grapes, halved or quartered
  • 1/2 T. honey (Tip: spray your measuring spoon with cooking spray.)
  • splash lemon juice
  • fresh cilantro, salt and pepper to taste

Strain yogurt overnight.  Combine chicken, celery, grapes and lemon juice in mixing bowl.  Add greek yogurt until desired consistency is reached (I used about 3/4 of the container).  Drizzle honey over and mix well.  Add cilantro, salt and pepper to taste.  Makes 3 servings.

I ate this with a toasted Whole Wheat Thomas’ Bagel Thin, and loved it.

Nutrition Info (including bagel thin): (compliments of my Lose It! iPhone app)

  • Calories: 220!
  • Fat:  2.2g
  • Cholest.: 27.4mg
  • Sodium: 423.6mg
  • Carb.: 35.6
  • Protein: 19.7g

PS – Anyone else notice that we Americans consume MASSIVE amounts of sodium?  This is a healthy recipe, and it still has over 400mg of sodium in ONE serving.  Any ideas for solutions?

Leave a Reply

