Brandied Apple Crisp

This past weekend I was up in Michigan to visit family and go to a baptism and my cousin and I went to Moelker’s Orchard to pick up a couple bushels of tree runs.  By the way, if you live near Grand Rapids and need some apples for sauce, pie fillings or canning, you should definitely go to Moelkers.  We got 4 1/2 bushes for $54.  That’s a STEAL!

Anyway, you can’t pick up fresh picked apples without making a fall apple crisp… or three. 🙂  I’ve always wanted to try putting brandy in my apple crisp or peach cobbler, so I figured last weekend was as good a time to try as any.  IT WAS FABULOUS!  My cousin only had apricot brandy, so I did it once with that and then today I used regular dark brandy and that worked well too.

So, without further adieu… 🙂

BRANDIED APPLE CRISP

Filling:

  • 10 c. apples, peeled, cored and sliced (macs or jonathans)
  • 1/4 c. sugar
  • 3 T. brown sugar
  • 1 T. cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp. ground clove
  • 1/4 tsp. ground nutmeg
  • 1/4 tsp. ground allspice
  • 1/4 c. brandy

Topping:

  • 1 c. oatmeal
  • 1 c. brown sugar
  • 1/2 c. flour
  • 1 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp. clove
  • 1/4 tsp. nutmeg
  • 1/4 tsp. allspice
  • 1/2 c. butter or margarine, softened

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.  Stir apples with filling ingredients and dump into a 9×13.  Combine topping ingredients, folding margarine/butter in with a fork.  Spread evenly over filling and bake for 30 minutes or until apples are tender and topping is browned.

So, what do YOU think of Brandied Apple Crisp?!

5 thoughts on “Brandied Apple Crisp

  1. Apple Crisp is so yummy and to add Brandy…even better. Can’t wait to try it. Do you know if certain types of apples work better than others? I never know what are better for pies and what type are better for applesauce…

  2. stacielk says:

    This is perfect, I’ve been wondering what to do with this small bottle of brandy my boss got me while on his vacation to…I think europe…but the day he got back I told him I was pregnant! I haven’t thought about what to mix it with, but now I have the perfect recipe to use it in!

Leave a Reply

