Raspberry Vanilla Creme Brulée

I had some time over the Holidays to finally try some recipes that I’ve been wanting to give a shot.  My previous post about Mushroom Risotto was one of them, and I also tried my hand at Tiramisu and Creme Brulée.  Everything came off without a hitch, and I’m so happy people enjoyed it all!

My friend’s mother-in-law received some real vanilla beans from a client and she was kind enough to pass them to my friend to give to me.  I used one of them in a cheesecake, and I used the other 2 in creme brulée.  Creme Brulée #1 was for Christmas Eve, and that was a plain vanilla one.  I got a little adventurous on round #2 and tried adding some fresh raspberries – DELISH!

RASPBERRY VANILLA CREME BRULEE

  • 4 c. heavy cream
  • 1 vanilla bean, split and scraped
  • 1/2 c. sugar
  • 6 egg yolks (7 if they look small)
  • 1/2 pt. fresh raspberries
  • 4-6 c. boiling water

Bring cream and vanilla bean (seeds and pod) to a simmer.  Remove from heat, cover and let sit for 15 minutes.  In the meantime, beat eggs and sugar with a whisk until light in color.  Place 8 ramekins into a deep casserole dish or a couple 9×13 pans.  Evenly distribute raspberries into the bottoms of the ramekins.

Heat oven to 350 degrees.

Remove vanilla pod from cream and discard.  Stirring constantly, slowly ladle hot cream into the egg yolk mixture until all combined.  Pour/ladle cream mixture into ramekins until it reaches about an 1/8 of an inch from the top.

Place pans on oven rack and very carefully pour boiling water into the bottom of the pan until it’s about half-way up the ramekins.  Bake for 45 minutes or until custard is lightly browned on top.  VERY carefully remove from oven and remove from water bath.  Refrigerate for at least 6 hours before dusting with granulated sugar and torching.  Tip: only torch as many brulées as you plan to serve.

Miraculously, I also managed to remember to take a few pics for your viewing pleasure!

4 thoughts on “Raspberry Vanilla Creme Brulée

Leave a Reply

