Hand-Stamped Tile Coasters

Yes, I’m fully aware that this is a food blog, but we’re going against the grain a little today and posting about a craft.  Theoretically, it ties in since you would use it when eating/drinking, but that’s a bit of a stretch I suppose…

Every year for Christmas I alternate between giving my co-workers a food or craft item as a Christmas gift.  This year was a craft year and I stole this idea from the mom of one of my mother’s students who gave one of these coaster sets to my mom for Christmas a couple years back.

I’m not lying when I say it’s easy.  It might, in fact, be the easiest craft I’ve done so far.  I’m 500% sure that it was easier than the etched wine glasses I did two years ago, right Laura and Stacie?! 🙂

HAND-STAMPED TILE COASTERS

Materials:

  • Unglazed, unpolished natural stone tile (I found these at Home Depot for about $4/pack of 9)
  • Rubber stamp
  • Ink Pad (I tried a couple brands and the only brand that didn’t bleed into the tile was Staz On)
  • Adhesive felt discs (the smaller version of the kind used on dining room chairs to prevent floor scratches)
  • Ribbon

Open packages of tiles and wipe surfaces with a slightly damp washcloth to get rid of grit.  Wipe dry with a towel.

About three tiles into stamping I quickly realized that it would be easier for me to press the tile onto the stamp as opposed to pressing the stamp onto the tile.  Doing it that way allowed me to see which part of the stamp I was using so that I didn’t go crooked or miss part of the tile entirely.  So, place the stamp face up and then ink it with the pad.  Turn tile carefully onto stamp, press, let sit for a couple seconds and then carefully lift off stamp.  Set it face-up to dry.

Once the tiles are dry (wait about 10-15 minutes to be safe) flip them all over and put adhesive felt discs onto the corner of every tile.  Stack in sets of 4 and tie with a ribbon.  It really is that easy, and they look REALLY good.  Depending on which tile you pick, they’ll even absorb moisture.  The travertine I chose absorbs moisture quite well.

A few pics for your viewing pleasure:

Here's a close-up of the tiles. Took this right after I stamped them while they were drying.

Backs of tiles so that you can see the little adhesive circles.

Finished product, all wrapped and ready to gift.

2 thoughts on “Hand-Stamped Tile Coasters

  1. Carrie says:

    Cool Amy! I read on some other sites you can color your stamp design with decorative chalk and then spray with hairspray to set them or bake them at 350 for 25-30min to make sure the ink is sealed. I like your stamp design, because it looks great the way it is. Maybe I’ll make them this winter already, so I have them made for next years gifts! 🙂

Leave a Reply

