Brandy Alexander Pie

The big “3-0” is just around the corner, so my “cousins” and I are meeting up tonight for a little shopping, dinner, dessert and wine.  I’m not much of a birthday cake girl, so I’m bringing a pie and wanted to try something different.  A while back while perusing recipes for a boozy frosting I came across a recipe called 1975 Dick Taeuber’s Brandy Alexander Pie and immediately bookmarked it.  A gingersnap cookie crust, meringue, cognac, creme de cacao and fresh whipped cream… how can you go wrong with that?!

I’m glad that the person who posted this gave a few pointers on it, because I think I would have screwed it up if she hadn’t.  Two things to remember:  don’t let the gelatin mixture boil, and don’t refrigerate it too long before folding in egg whites and whipped cream.  Once the gelatin mixture has been in the fridge long enough to start to form a “skin” on the edge of whatever you have it in, it’s time to fold in the egg whites and whipped cream.

While I haven’t cut into the pie yet, I did put some filling in a little bowl in the fridge so that I could check if it set up correctly and we have success… delicious success!  The texture is on par with a mousse, and the flavor reminds me of brandy ice from White Fence Farm.

BRANDY ALEXANDER PIE

  • 1 1/2 c. gingersnap crumbs
  • 1/4 c. butter, melted
  • 1/2 c. water
  • 1 envelope unflavored gelatin
  • 3 eggs at room temperature, separated
  • 1/4 c. cognac
  • 1/4 c. creme de cacao
  • 1 c. heavy cream

Preheat oven to 350 degree.  Combine crumbs and butter and press into a 10-inch pie pan.  Bake for 10 minutes and set aside to cool.

Add water to a saucepan and sprinkle gelatin over top.  Add 1/3 c. sugar and egg yolks and heat until mixture thickens slightly.  Do not let boil.  Pour into a large mixing bowl and refrigerate until a skin just starts to form around the edge of the bowl.

Beat egg whites until stiff and add 1/3 c. sugar.  Beat until shiny and stiff peaks form.  Fold onto gelatin mixture.  Beat heavy cream until soft peaks form and folk into gelatin/egg white mixture.  Pour into cooled crust and refrigerate for at least a few hours.

I put some shaved chocolate on there just because it was a little blah looking.  Given that the taste reminds me of brandy ice from White Fence Farm I think a sprinkle of freshly grated nutmeg would actually work well here too, just like they do with their dessert.

Leave a Reply

