Strawberry Apple Rhubarb Crisp

Due to this early spring, my rhubarb plants are were already ready for a picking this morning.  So much so, in fact, that they were going to seed.

Add to that the fact that I was having a lazy morning watching TV and reading a book and was lucky enough to catch Barefoot Contessa on Food Network.  Guess what she made!  Rhubarb crisp!  I took it as a sign, went and picked all my rhubarb, and got to work.

Ina made her Strawberry Rhubarb Crisp, but I didn’t have enough strawberries to do that so despite my love of all things Ina… I had to keep looking.  I found a recipe for a Rhubarb Apple Crisp and decided to do a bit of a merger.  Also, I didn’t want the fruit to cook down to mush, so I left the chunks bigger than I normally would.  Fortunately, things turned out and it’s REALLY good.

STRAWBERRY APPLE RHUBARB CRISP

  • 7 c. rhubarb, roughly chopped
  • 1 c. strawberries, quartered
  • 2 c. apples, peeled and cubed
  • 1 1/2  c. sugar
  • 7 T. corn starch
  • 1 c. butter, softened
  • 2 c. oatmeal
  • 1 c. brown sugar
  • 2/3 c. wheat flour
  • 2 tsp. cinnamon

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Combine sugar and cornstarch.  Put fruit in a large mixing bowl and pour sugar mixture over top.  Toss to combine and pour into a 9×13 pan.

Combine oatmeal, brown sugar, flour and cinnamon.  Cut in butter with a fork until pea-sized crumbles form.  Sprinkle crumble mixture over fruit and bake for 45 minutes or until fruit is bubbling around the edges and top is browned.

2 thoughts on “Strawberry Apple Rhubarb Crisp

  1. Carrie says:

    Thanks for this post! You reminded me that I had rhubarb in the freezer yet. I made a smaller version of this and it was GOOD!

    • alenting says:

      I’m back on my diet and nothing sounds better than taking a spoon of this right out of the pan. 🙂 Haha! Glad you enjoyed.

Leave a Reply

