Caramel Apple Cheesecake Cups

Every 18 months my students perform a flute and piano recital.  Getting ready is a lot of work for both them and me, but it’s a great experience for them, their parents love it, and it holds me accountable as a teacher.

The moms are always so great about helping out with bringing baked goods for the reception afterward, but since it’s my studio recital I pitch in with the baked goods too.  I didn’t have time for cookies, so we make 2 little desserts:  Chocolate Eclair (recipe coming soon) and Caramel Apple Cheesecake Cups.

Caramel Apple Cheesecake Cups are a twist on a Cheesecake Cup recipe my mom got from a friend.  (To make regular Cheesecake Cups, eliminate the cinnamon and nutmeg from the recipe below, add 1 T. lemon juice and top with pie filling of choice.)  I saw a can of apple pie filling (yes, I cheated and didn’t do homemade due to time constraints) and we went from there.

Love it when an idea works out!

CARAMEL APPLE CHEESECAKE CUPS

  • Nilla Wafer cookies
  • 2-8 oz. packages cream cheese, softened
  • 3/4 c. sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tsp. vanilla
  • 1 1/2 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp. nutmeg
  • 1 can apple pie filling, diced (the one I bought was blah so I sprinkled cinnamon, nutmeg and cloves over the filling and added 4 T. brown sugar)
  • caramel topping

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.  Beat cheese and sugar until fluffy.  Add eggs one at a time until just incorporated, then add vanilla, cinnamon and nutmeg.  Set aside.

Line muffin tins with paper liners and place one wafer in the bottom of each liner.  Fill each cup half-way and bake 15-20 minutes or until edges are lightly browned.  Top with pie filling, drizzle with caramel and refrigerate until ready to serve.

Leave a Reply

