Banana Bread Goes… Healthy?!

This poor blog has been sorely neglected of late.  I thought about deleting it, but really it’s my personal recipe box – all my “go to” recipes all in one place.  The last recipe I posted was almost 4 months ago, and to be quite honest – there hasn’t been much time for cooking and baking (aside from necessity) since then.  Once we hit Thanksgiving last year it was a downward slide into Christmas and then into travel season for me… and all the sudden it’s now Easter and April is next week.  What happened?!

Anyway, I first made this recipe last Christmas and have been wanting to post it since.  Given all the horribly unhealthy food that lays around during the holidays, I went looking for a healthy option to regular banana bread and found this.  There’s a lengthy story at the front end of the post, but I’m glad I kept digging to find the recipe.  When I saw brown bananas on the counter this morning my inner Dutch girl made an appearance and we pulled out this recipe again.

I’ve made some changes to the recipe linked above and it works just fine.  I think you could easily add chocolate chips or some shredded coconut to this and it’d come out great.

By the way, am I the only person who doesn’t do well with baking banana bread in one large loaf pan?  The outsides are dry and the middle is still raw.  I’m bound to my mini loaf pans, which is fine with me… but what am I doing wrong?!

BANANA BREAD GOES… HEALTHY?!

  • 3/4 c. white sugar
  • 1/2 c. brown sugar
  • 2 T. butter, softened
  • 2 eggs
  • 8 oz. low- or non-fat greek yogurt
  • 1 large apple, peeled and shredded
  • 3 ripe bananas
  • 1 tsp. vanilla
  • 1 tsp. cinnamon
  • dash of cloves
  • dash of nutmeg
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 1 c. white flour + 2-3 T.
  • 1 c. wheat flour
  • 2 tsp. baking soda

Preheat oven to 325 degrees.

Combine sugars and butter until pebbly.  Add eggs, yogurt, shredded apple, bananas (whole – let the mixer do the work), vanilla, spices and salt.  Combine flours and soda in a separate bowl and add to batter.  Mix until just combined.

Grease 4 mini loaf pans and distribute batter evenly.  Bake for 20 minutes, rotate pans 180 degrees, and then back for 20 minutes more (or until toothpick comes out clean).

I get 8 slices out of each loaf.  Based on that, here’s the nutritional breakdown:

  • Calories:  90
  • Fat:  1 g
  • Saturated:  .06 g
  • Cholesterol:  15 mg
  • Carbohydrates:  18 g
  • Fiber:  1 g
  • Protein:  2 g

Sorry, no photos on this one – I just don’t feel like taking, editing and uploading this time because it just looks like… banana bread. 🙂

 

3 thoughts on “Banana Bread Goes… Healthy?!

  1. lauren says:

    Trying this!!! but I think I will add the mini reese’s to it 🙂 …i have the same problem with the big loaf pans….It’s mini loafs for me too

    • alenting says:

      Haha! Mini Reese’s sounds sinful! Mike just covers it in butter.

      Watch it when adding flour – literally mix until JUST combined. Over-mixing with wheat flour can lead to glue. I found that out the hard way! Gross…

  2. This looks REALLY good! Thanks for sharing! I too, struggle with baking breads in large loaf pans. I have a handful of pans that are size 4″ x 8″ (are those considered mini I wonder??) and I have better success with those. I bake “quick” breads at 325 degrees and that seems to help for more even baking ~ oh, looking back at the recipe and that IS the temp this bread bakes at! 🙂 I enjoy your recipes EVEN with a few months in-between each! THANKS!

Leave a Reply

