Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

My brother, Mike, lives in my basement and is the most spoiled tenant EVER.  I feel guilty when I leave on business trips and can’t cook him dinner, so I’ve been freezing meals for him.  That said, in my quest to eliminate as many preservatives as possible from my cooking I’ve become anti-cream soup and, thereby, largely anti-casserole.  Needless to say, Mike has been enjoying a lot of homemade soups. 🙂

This recipe is one of the first I made in my new house and I believe we’ve gone through 5 of 6 pots of it.  I’ve got my friends hooked on it, and Mike’s friends hooked on it.

Here’s the thing… the rice makes it!  I tried making it with plain brown rice, but it’s got to be Trader Joe’s Brown Rice Blend.  No substitutions.

CHICKEN AND WILD RICE SOUP

  • 1 lg. onion, dicedBrown Rice
  • 1 T. olive oil
  • 4-5 carrots, peeled and sliced into rounds
  • 3 lg. celery stalks, diced (save the leaves)
  • 3 garlic cloves, minced
  • 3 quarts chicken stock
  • 1 1/2 c. Trader Joe’s Brown Rice Blend
  • 2 lbs. chicken breast, cooked and shredded
  • juice of 1/2 a lemon (I love lemon so I usually use the juice of a whole lemon)
  • 1/3 c. italian parsley and leaves from celery stalks, chopped
  • salt and pepper to taste

Sauté vegetables and garlic in olive oil.  Once onion is translucent and celery starts to become tender add stock and rice.  Bring to boil.  Reduce heat and simmer for about 25 minutes or until rice is tender.  Add chicken, herbs, and  salt and pepper to taste.

 

Leave a Reply

