Chicago-Style Deep Dish Pizza

So I recently started making a new pizza dough (see my Overnight Pizza Dough post just previous to this one) and have had this idea in my head for a while that my springform pan would work great for making a deep dish pizza.  Don’t ask me where I got that idea – it just came to me.  Imagine my surprise when it turns out I wasn’t the first person to think of it.  I did some reading online and it seems people have been doing it for years.  It does work though – so give it (and this recipe) a shot!

CHICAGO-STYLE DEEP DISH PIZZA

  • 1 batch Overnight Pizza Dough
  • 5 slices provolone cheese
  • 1 c. mozzarella cheese
  • 1/2 lb. sausage, browned (Aldi’s turkey sausage works great) and drained
  • veggies of choice, browned and drained well
  • parmesan cheese
  • 1 c. pizza sauce
  • 2 14.5-oz. cans stewed tomatoes, chopped and drained well

Preheat oven to 500 degrees.

Lightly grease spring form pan and dust with cornmeal.  Press dough along bottom and up sides.  Place sliced provolone in bottom and sprinkle with mozzarella cheese.  Add drained sausage and veggies.  Sprinkle parmesan over top and then spoon pizza sauce over that.  Top with stewed tomatoes and sprinkle with more parm and herbs of your choice.  Bake for 20-25 minutes, covering with foil to prevent crust from getting too brown if necessary.

Release sides of pan and let it sit for 5-10 minutes before slicing.  So good!!!

Chicago-style Deep Dish Pizza

One thought on “Chicago-Style Deep Dish Pizza

Leave a Reply

