Overnight Pizza Dough

During the summers, my parents and I almost never bake pizzas.  We grill them right on the grill grates.  It’s the best pizza, but part of what makes it the best is the dough.  My dad found this little hole-in-the-wall Italian grocery store a few years ago and they have fresh dough delivered every day.  It gets big huge bubbles in it when you grill it – I’ve never been able to get that with my homemade dough.  I tried bread flour, I tried AP flour, I tried mixing flours, I tried using carbonated water… none of it worked.

Sure, my homemade dough is fine, but it’s dense.  There’s not a lot of chew.  There’s definitely not any bubbles.

My October Bon Apetít mag had a small section on pizzas.  When I was reading through the recipe it started with a sponge.  I immediately had one of those “duh” moments.  My friend, Malory, taught me how to make baguettes a few years back and we started that with a sponge too.  Big bubbles, great chew, awesome crispy crust.  That said, the recipe made enough for something like 8 pizzas.  Too much.

So, after some experimenting, here’s my new go-to pizza dough recipe (which, by the way, I’ve only baked).  Can’t wait to try it on the grill when it gets warm again next spring!

Sponge:

  • 1/2 c. warm water
  • 1 1/2 tsp. yeast
  • 1/2 c. AP flour

Stir until sticky, cover, and let sit for 12 hours on the counter in mixer bowl.

Dough:

  • 3/4 c. warm water
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 1 1/2 tsp. yeast
  • 2 1/2 c. AP flour

After sponge sits for 12 hours, add above ingredients to mixing bowl and let your dough hook do the work.  Dough is ready once it pulls away from the sides of the bowl and springs back when you poke it with your finger.  Knead into ball and place in greased bowl in fridge for 2 hours.  Punch it down after 2 hours and then let it rise in fridge for 6 more.

And for those of you who read this and think it sounds like a lot of work, it’s not… but unless you’re home during the day it is a weekend recipe. 🙂

Enjoy!

Overnight Pizza Dough

3 thoughts on “Overnight Pizza Dough

  1. Oh, Yummers! So it’s the sponge, eh? I have tried homemade pizza dough recipes too, with not much success. I will certainly give this one a try. I love that bubbly-chewy dough,too. Thanks for doing the work! Sue

Leave a Reply

